Bankwood School (1693) Enrolment Scheme

Effective from XX XX 2023

The development and operation of enrolment schemes is undertaken under authority granted under Schedule 20 of the Education and Training Act 2020, which describes the basis on which the Secretary's powers in relation to enrolment schemes will be exercised.

Home Zone

All students who live within the home zone described below shall be eligible to enrol at the school.

Starting at the intersection of River Road and Comries Road, following east down Comries Road until reaching the intersection of Comries Road and Hukanui Road. All even numbered addresses from 2 to 158 Comries Road are in zone. Odd numbered addresses are not in zone.

Now head down Hukanui Road to the intersection of Hukanui Road and Chedworth Avenue. Odd numbered Hukanui Road addresses including 183 Hukanui Road and below are in zone. Even numbered addresses from 172 Hukanui Road and above (i.e. north of Chedworth Avenue) are not in zone. Continue following the zone boundary east down Chedworth Avenue until reaching the intersection of Chedworth Ave and Ellerslie Ave. Odd numbered Chedworth Avenue addresses are not in zone.

Addresses 62 Ellerslie Ave and above are not in zone, all other addresses on Ellerslie Ave are in zone. All addresses on Ruby Crescent are in zone, with Wairere Drive forming as a boundary for the zone. From the Wairere Drive, Crosby Road, Pardoa Boulevard and Gordonton Road roundabout, the zone follows Gordonton Road to the intersection of Pukeroa (Greenhill) Road and Gordonton Road.

The zone extends east along Pukeroa Road (only even-numbered Pukeroa Road addresses are in-zone) to the Waikato Expressway and follows the Expressway to the intersection of Pardoa Boulevard, and then west along Pardoa Boulevard to the Wairere Drive, Crosby Road, Pardoa Boulevard and Gordonton Road roundabout.

Follow south from the roundabout down Wairere Drive until the Tramway Road and Wairere Drive intersection. From the intersection, the boundary travels west through Porritt Park (including Heritage Ave, Stella Place addresses) and then south to follow the park boundary, including addresses on Bellwood Place, Sharpley Place and Winstone Ave before reaching Snell Drive.

The zone extends west down Snell Drive until the Snell Drive, Peachgrove Road, Hukanui Road and Clarkin Road roundabout. Even numbered addresses from 46A Snell Drive to 88 Snell Drive are in zone. Odd numbered Snell Drive addresses are not in zone.

From the roundabout continue west down Clarkin Road, until reaching the roundabout of Clarkin Road and Bankwood Road. Clarkin Road addresses west of Bankwood Road are not in-zone.

The boundary extends along the Kukutāruhe gully, including all Bankwood Road and streets off Bankwood Road, and then through Donny Park, excluding Donny Avenue, Conway Place, Chelsea Place, and Perindale Drive, to River Road, and from River Road to the intersection of River Road and Comries Road, where the zone began.

Note: Both sides of all streets and roads included in the above description are included unless otherwise stated.

Proof of residence within the home zone will be required.

Each year, applications for enrolment in the following year from in-zone students will be sought by a date which will be published in a daily or community newspaper circulating in the area served by the school. This will enable the board to assess the number of places which can be made available to students who live outside the home zone.

Out of Zone Enrolments

Each year the board will determine the number of places which are likely to be available in the following year for the enrolment of students who live outside the home zone. The board will publish this information by notice in a daily or community newspaper circulating in the area served by the school. The notice will indicate how applications are to be made and will specify a date by which all applications must be received.

Applications for enrolment will be processed in the following order of priority:

- **<u>First Priority</u>** this priority is not applicable at this school because the school does not run a special programme approved by the Secretary for Education.
- **Second Priority** will be given to applicants who are siblings of current students.
- **Third Priority** will be given to applicants who are siblings of former students.
- **Fourth Priority** will be given to any applicant who is a child of a former student of the school.
- **<u>Fifth Priority</u>** will be given to any applicant who is either a child of an employee of the board of the school or a child of a member of the board of the school.
- **Sixth Priority** will be given to all other applicants.

If there are more applicants in the second, third, fourth, fifth or sixth priority groups than there are places available, Selection within the priority group will be by ballot conducted in accordance with instructions by the Secretary, under Schedule 20, Clause 3 (1) of the Education and Training Act 2020. Parents will be informed of the date of any ballot by public notice in a medium appropriate to the area served by the school.

Applicants seeking second or third priority status may be required to give proof of a sibling relationship.



Bankwood School - Proposed Enrolment Scheme Home Zone - September 2022