HAEATA COMMUNITY CAMPUS (704) Enrolment Scheme

Home Zone

All students who live within the home zone described below shall be eligible to enrol at the school.

Year 1-8 Enrolment Scheme Home Zone:

From the ANZAC Drive bridge (SH74) over the Otakaro / Avon River;

- East along the South West bank of the Otakaro / Avon River to Bridge Street
- West along the North side only of Bridge Street to Breezes Road
- West along the North side only of Breezes Road to Cuthberts Road
- South along the West side only of Cuthberts Road to 99 Cuthberts Road
- North West to Shuttle Drive
- North West along Shuttle Drive to Pages Road
- South West along the North West side only of Pages Road to Cuffs Road (including the North side of Pages Road between Cuffs Rd and Woodham Rd)
- North along Cuffs Road to Wainoni Road
- North along Wainoni Road to Avonside Drive
- West along Avonside Drive to Kerrs Road
- North along Kerrs Road to the Otakaro / Avon River
- North along the South East bank of the Otakaro / Avon River River to the ANZAC Drive bridge.

Year 9-13 Enrolment Scheme Home Zone:

From the ANZAC Drive bridge (SH74) over the Otakaro / Avon River;

- North along the East side only of ANZAC Drive (SH74) to Frosts Road
- North along the East side only of Frosts Road to Mairehau Road
- North along Mairehau Road to Inwoods Road (including Medina Crescent and Bolero Place)
- North along Inwoods Road to Broadhaven Avenue
- East along Broadhaven Avenue to Bower Avenue (including Wisteria Place, Forest Drive, Courtfield Close, Monterey Place, and Flaxgrove Place)
- North along Bower Avenue to the Bottle Lake Forest Park
- East along the Southern edge of the Bottle Lake Forest Park to the coastline
- South along the coastline, around the Southshore Spit then North along the edge of the Avon/Heathcote Estuary to the Otakaro / Avon River
- North up the Otakaro / Avon River to Bridge Street
- West along the North side only of Bridge Street to Breezes Road
- West along the North side only of Breezes Road to Cuthberts Road
- South along the West side only of Cuthberts Road to 99 Cuthberts Road
- North West to Shuttle Drive
- North West along Shuttle Drive to Pages Road
- South West along the North West side only of Pages Road to Cuffs Road (including the North side of Pages Road between Cuffs Rd and Woodham Rd)
- North along Cuffs Road to Wainoni Road
- North along Wainoni Road to Avonside Drive
- West along Avonside Drive to Kerrs Road
- North along Kerrs Road to the Otakaro / Avon River
- North along the South East bank of the Otakaro / Avon River to the ANZAC Drive bridge.

Addresses on both sides of boundary roads are considered in-zone unless specified otherwise.

Each year, applications for enrolment in the following year from in-zone students will be sought by a date that will be published by public notice in a medium appropriate to the area served by the school. This will enable the board to assess the number of places that can be made available to students who live outside the home zone.

Proposed Special Programme (only change – other parts updated to new Act)

The school operates the following special programme; **Kōmanawa**.

The criteria for acceptance into Kōmanawa is as follows:

Respective whānau interested in enrolling will be expected to demonstrate a genuine commitment to te reo Māori and tikanga Māori. Ākonga will need someone in the home that can understand and kōrero in te reo and/or currently be committed to learning as a whānau.

Final entry decisions are made by the Kaihautū Māori in collaboration with Te Roopu Whakahaere: Haeata Bicultural Advisory Group.

Māori medium provision classes at Haeata have limited spaces and entry pre-requisites are in place. The number of ākonga enrolled in Kōmanawa at any one time is 10 at each year level (1-13) (see Note 1).

If there are more applicants than spaces available in the programme, places will be balloted according to the criteria set below in the following priority order:

- Ākonga residing within the Haeata Community Campus home zone with siblings who are currently enrolled in Kōmanawa.
- 2. Ākonga who reside within the Haeata Community Campus home zone.
- 3. Ākonga who have attended a contributing Kōhanga and who have come from one of the Kōhanga reo as a Māori medium pathway.
- 4. Ākonga residing outside the Haeata Community Campus home zone, with siblings currently enrolled in Kōmanawa.
- 5. Ākonga with extended whānau connections, for example cousins.

If there are more applicants in any priority group than places available, a ballot will be conducted. Priority will be given to those where Haeata Community Campus is their closest geographical Māori medium provision.

Note 1: The number for out of zone places will be determined following applications from in-zone students during the pre-enrolment process. Spaces available for out of zone learners will be published on the Haeata Community Campus website each year.

Out of Zone Enrolments

Applications for enrolments will be processed in the following order of priority:

- **First priority** must be given to students who have been accepted for enrolment in the Special Programme (**Kōmanawa**) run by the school and approved by the Secretary for Education.
- **Second priority** must be given to any applicant who is the sibling of a current student of the school.
- Third priority must be given to any student who is the sibling of a former student of the school.

- Fourth priority must be given to any applicant who is the child of a former student of the school.
- **Fifth priority** must be given to any applicant who is a child of an employee of the school's board or a child of a member of the school's board.
- **Sixth priority** must be given to all other applicants.

Before the application deadline associated with each pre-enrolment period, a Board must, by public notice in a medium appropriate to the area served by the school:

- confirm the already advertised dates for the receipt of applications and for the holding of the ballot.
- state the likely number of out of zone places that remain available.

If there are more applicants in any priority group than there are places available, selection within the priority group will be by ballot conducted in accordance with <u>instructions by the Secretary</u>, under <u>Schedule 20, Clause 3 (1)</u> of the Education and Training Act 2020. Parents will be informed of the date of any ballot by public notice in a medium appropriate to the area served by the school.

Applicants may be required to give proof of address or sibling relationship.

The guidelines for development and operation of enrolment schemes are issued under Schedule 20, Clause 3 (3) of the Education and Training Act 2020 for the purpose of describing the basis on which the Secretary's powers in relation to enrolment schemes will be exercised.

