ENROLMENT SCHEME TAUPO INTERMEDIATE (1988)

1 January 2025

The guidelines for the development and operation of enrolment schemes are issued under section 72(1) of the Education and Training Act 2020 for the purpose of describing the basis on which the Secretary's powers in relation to enrolment schemes will be exercised.

Home Zone

All students who live within the home zone described below (and shown on the attached map) shall be entitled to enrol at the school.

Starting from the mouth of the Waikato River, as it exits Lake Taupo, the zone boundary travels west, along the lake shoreline to the mouth of the Okaia Stream (Kinloch).

From this stream mouth the boundary travels along Okaia Stream, and around (and including) addresses on Okaia Drive, Oakleaf Lane, and Sherwood Way, and then continues north, crossing Poihipi Road at number 1773 Poihipi Road and on to capture 1716 Poihipi Road.

From 1716 Poihipi Road the zone boundary travels north-east, crossing Forest Road at number 441, and continuing north-east to Mt. Maroanui. From Mt. Maroanui the zone boundary travels east to the intersection of State Highway 1 and Valley View Lane, capturing all addresses on Valley View Lane.

From the intersection of Valley View Lane and State Highway 1 the boundary travels north along the centre of State Highway 1 to the intersection with Tutukau Road and includes 2411 Tutukau Road.

The zone boundary travels in a direct line from the eastern boundary of 2411 Tutukau Road to the intersection of State Highway 5 and Te Toke Road, continuing along the centre of Te Toke Road (including odd-numbered addresses only) to 507 Te Toke Road.

From 507 Te Toke Road the zone boundary travels south, crossing the Waikato River, and proceeds further south to 1609 Broadlands Road (this address is included in the zone).

From 1609 Broadlands Road the boundary travels west along Broadlands Road the bridge which crosses the Pueto Stream, then directly on to the fork where the Sexton and Pueto Stream meet. From this fork the boundary proceeds in a southerly direction, just east of the Sexton Stream, around the airstrip, crossing Little Creek and the Pueto Stream (again).

The boundary pivots south-west and travels in a straight line to the Opepe Scenic Historic Reserve on State Highway 5.

From the Opepe Scenic Historic Reserve the boundary travels westward in a straight line to the fork where the Waioratene Stream and Mangamutu Stream meet. From this fork the boundary continues south to cross the Waitahanui River, behind 100 Blake Road (this address included in the zone), and continues around and includes addresses on Blake Road and Wairau Ave, to State Highway 1. The boundary crosses State Highway 1 and travels

around (and includes) addresses on Rotongaio Road to 62A Rotongaio Road, which is on the edge of Lake Taupo.

From 62A Rotongaio Road the boundary travels northward, along the shoreline of Lake Taupo to the mouth of the Waikato River as it exits Lake Taupo, in the urban Taupo township.

Proof of residence within the home zone will be required. Proof will include any accounts or bank statements sent to the required address.

Each year, applications for enrolment in the following year from in-zone students will be sought by a date which will be published in a daily or community newspaper circulating in the area served by the school. This will enable the board to assess the number of places which can be made available to students who live outside the home zone.

Out of Zone Enrolments

Each year the Board of Trustees will determine the number of places which are likely to be available in the following year for the enrolment of students who live outside the home zone. The Board will publish this information by notice in a daily or community newspaper circulating in the area served by the school. The notice will indicate how applications are to be made and will specify a date by which all applications must be received.

Special Programmes

Taupō Intermediate does not operate a special programme.

Applications for enrolments will be processed in the following order of priority:

- **First priority** must be given to students who have been accepted for enrolment in the above special programme(s) run by the school and approved by the Secretary for Education.
- Second priority must be given to applicants who are siblings of current students.
- Third priority must be given to applicants who are siblings of former students.
- **Fourth priority** must be given to any applicant who is a child of a former student of the school.
- **Fifth priority** must be given to any applicant who is either a child of an employee of the board of the school or a child of a member of the board of the school.
- Sixth priority must be given to all other applicants.

If there are more applicants in the second, third, fourth, or fifth priority groups than there are places available, selection within the priority group will be by ballot conducted in accordance with instructions by the Secretary under Schedule 20 (2) of the Education and Training Act 2020. Parents will be informed of the date of any ballot by public notice in a medium appropriate to the area served by the school.

Applicants seeking second or third priority status may be required to give proof of a sibling relationship.

Proof of residence within the home zone may be required.