

Te Awamutu College Proposed Enrolment Zone June 2022

## Te Awamutu College (146) Enrolment Scheme

Effective from Date

The guidelines for development and operation of enrolment schemes are issued under Schedule 20, Clause 3 (3) of the Education and Training Act 2020 for the purpose of describing the basis on which the Secretary's powers in relation to enrolment schemes will be exercised.

## Home Zone

All students who live within the home zone described below shall be eligible to enrol at the school.

Starting at and including 573 Limeworks Loop Road, the zone travels east past (and including) 870 Te Pahu Road. Whittaker Road addresses are not included in the zone.

From 870 Te Pahu Road the zone boundary extends east past (and including) 397 Grove Road. The zone then extends east to cross the Waipa River and continues east to cross Old School Road at the intersection with Reid Road (Old School Road addresses north of Reid Road are not included).

The zone continues east to include all Reid Road addresses to the intersection of Kakaramea Road (SH 39) and Duncan Road. Duncan Road addresses, and Pilot Drive, Greenkeeper Lane, Holmwood Drive and Eric Lane are included in the zone.

From the intersection of Kakaramea Road (SH 39) and Duncan Road the boundary extends south to the intersection of Kakaramea Road (SH 39), Reid Road, and Ngahinapouri Road (only addresses on the western side of Kakaramea Road (SH 39) between Duncan and Reid Roads are included).

From the intersection of Kakaramea Road (SH 39), Reid Road, and Ngahinapouri Road the zone extends east, including all Ngahinapouri Road addresses but excluding Gillard Road, and McGregor Road.

From the southern end of Ngahinapouri Road the zone extends east along Forkert Road (including all of Dingle Road) to Ohaupo Road (SH 3). Ohaupo Road (SH 3) addresses north to the intersection of West Road are included in the zone.

The zone extends down West Road and includes West and Kite Roads (and Karl and Mill Roads) but not Norrish Road or Lynds Road.

From the end of Kite Road the zone boundary extends south-east to the intersection of Jary and Wallace Roads. From this point the boundary extends in a straight line to the intersection of Cox and Cambridge Roads. Cox Road is not included in the zone.

The boundary then extends south to the intersection of Chamberlain, Parklands and Roto O Rangi Roads, and includes Chamberlain and Parklands Road but not Roto O Rangi Road. From this intersection, the zone extends eastward to include Cowan Road, Judge Road, Koroko Road, Maru Road and Maungatautari Reserve, following the base of Maungatautari from the end of Maru Road clockwise to a point west of 951 Oriepunga Road.

The boundary extends from this point east to include 951 Oriepunga Road and east to the Waikato River, including Westlea Road.

The boundary then follows the Waikato River south to the Waipapa Dam, and then extends south west to include all Mangawhio Road, Wairehi Road, Waipari Road, and Tolley Road.

The zone then extends north including all Ngaroma Road addresses, and west to include all Wharepuhunga Road addresses, also extending south to include all of Atkinson Road and Duncan Road (but not Mangatutu Road or Happy Valley Road).

From the intersection of Wharepuhunga Road and Happy Valley Road, the zone extends west to the intersection of Whibley and Ngahape Roads. Only Ngahape Road addresses north of this intersection are included, and Whibley Road is not in the zone.

From the Whibley and Ngahape Road intersection the boundary extends north, to include Gallagher Road but not Anso Road, to where Otorohanga Road (SH 3) crosses the Mangakeao Stream (i.e. to include 892 and 893 Otorohanga Road).

The boundary then follows the Mangakeao Stream to where it is crossed by Te Arao-Tūrongo (North Island Main Trunk) and extends west, to cross Ouruwhero Road north of 989 Ouruwhero Road (addresses 989 Ouruwhero Road and below are not included in zone).

From north of 989 Ouruwhero Road the zone continues west to the Waipa River, and follows the Waipa River to north of Cannon Road (Cannon Road is not included, Morgan Road is included).

The boundary then extends west to include Kiwi Road and exclude Parihoro Road, to the intersection of Ormsby Road (SH 39) and Ngutunui Road (Ormsby Road addresses south of Ngutunui Road are not included).

The zone extends west to include Ngutunui Road up to 411 Ngutunui Road, all Pekanui and Scott Road addresses, and Te Rauamoa Road as far as Kawhia Road (SH 31). Kawhia Road (SH 31) is not included in the zone.

From the intersection of Te Rauamoa Road and Pekanui Road, the zone extends north, excluding Okupata and Pirongia West roads, through the Pirongia Forest Park, to a point west of 573 Limeworks Loop Road, where the zone began.

Note: Both sides of all streets and roads included in the above description are included unless otherwise stated.

Proof of residence within the home zone will be required.

Each year, applications for enrolment in the following year from in-zone students will be sought by a date which will be published in a daily or community newspaper circulating in the area served by the school. This will enable the board to assess the number of places which can be made available to students who live outside the home zone.

## **Out of Zone Enrolments**

Each year the board will determine the number of places which are likely to be available in the following year for the enrolment of students who live outside the home zone. The board will publish this information by notice in a daily or community newspaper circulating in the area served by the school. The notice will indicate how applications are to be made and will specify a date by which all applications must be received.

Applications for enrolment will be processed in the following order of priority:

- **First Priority** this priority is not applicable at this school because the school does not run a special programme approved by the Secretary for Education.
- **Second Priority** will be given to applicants who are siblings of current students.

**Third Priority** will be given to applicants who are siblings of former students.

**Fourth Priority** will be given to any applicant who is a child of a former student of the school.

**<u>Fifth Priority</u>** will be given to any applicant who is either a child of an employee of the board of the school or a child of a member of the board of the school.

**<u>Sixth Priority</u>** will be given to all other applicants.

If there are more applicants in the second, third, fourth, fifth or sixth priority groups than there are places available, Selection within the priority group will be by ballot conducted in accordance with instructions by the Secretary, under Schedule 20, Clause 3 (1) of the Education and Training Act 2020. Parents will be informed of the date of any ballot by public notice in a medium appropriate to the area served by the school.

Applicants seeking second or third priority status may be required to give proof of a sibling relationship.