Review of Achievement Standards (RAS) - Pilot Phase: Religious Studies

Closes 1 Mar 2020

Opened 10 Dec 2019


You are invited to respond to this questionnaire on draft teaching, learning and assessment material for Religious Studies curriculum level 6-8/NCEA level 1-3 for the New Zealand Curriculum as part of the Pilot phase of the review of achievement standards (RAS).

The Ministry would like to provide the sector with an opportunity to feed back on the very early drafts of Pilot materials and processes. This feedback will contribute to further development in 2020 and inform the full Review of Achievement Standards across all subjects. There will be another opportunity to provide feedback in mid-April as the material continues to progress through its development. We will also be conducting 'user testing' with 10 schools in April to test whether the material and resources are 'fit-for-purpose'.

We hope teachers engage with these materials and feed back their initial thoughts individually over December and January, then early in Term 1, meet as departments to discuss the materials and provide further feedback as a group.

Additional materials to support teachers with implementation in their schools will be developed. This includes a detailed Teaching, Learning, and Assessment Guide and examplar activities. However, for the purposes of this process, feedback is only sought on specific documents.

There are three sections in this questionnaire. It would make sense to work through these in this order so you can see how they connect and align:

  • Section 1 - Draft Rationale
  • Section 2 - Draft Religious Studies Learning Matrix
  • Section 3 - Draft Religious Studies Assessment Matrix

These three sections have been brought together in one document  - Religious Studies Phase 1 Products. Click here to view the Religious Studies Phase 1 Products

The questionnaire should take approximately 30-40 minutes to complete. All responses will remain confidential. No individual, school, or organisation will be identified when the results are reported.

You can edit your answers at any time by clicking the ‘Back’ button on each page to take you back to previous pages. You can also save answers and return, so you don't need to complete the whole questionnaire in one session. When you click the ‘submit’ button at the end of the questionnaire, you will not be able to return to your answers at a later time.

Before you begin, please ensure you have a copy of The New Zealand Curriculum available for your reference. Alternatively click here for the link to the NZC.

These FAQs will be updated as questions arise.

Start the questionnaire